My Female Persuasion

What do you do when someone you were fond of decides they’re no longer fond of you? Do you plead with them to stay in your life? Or do you say, “Oh well. Fuck you,” and keep it moving?

I’ve moved along the spectrum  – between “please don’t go” and “get the hell on, motherfucka.” As a teenager, I was obsessed enough with a boy to grovel at his feet, beg, protest, cry, sleep in the window so I could watch his house – even lightly cut my wrist a with a steak knife when he went away to Job Corps. Couldn’t live without him. I was also crazy enough to pull out a butcher knife on him, slap him in the face, and wrestle him, even though he was more than a foot taller than me. He wound up going to prison. Even still, it took years for…

View original post 704 more words

Leave a Reply

